American Idol Season 8 Episode 17

Last night, the final 12 contestants performed on American Idol 8 Episode 16, and tonight we will find out who America voted for, unlocking contestants 7, 8, and 9 from the top 12.

Lil Rounds is the first one to advance to the next round.

Arianna Afsar, Taylor Vaifanua, Alex Wagner-Trugman, Kendall Beard, and Scott MacIntyre all stand up. One will go through, presumably Scott. Arianna can sit down. Taylor can join her. Alex can join them, but he’s okay that he lost being himself. Scott MacIntyre is the one who will advance.

Nathaniel Marshall and/or Nate McGee and Kristen McNamara are up next. They have been eliminated.

Von Smith and Felicia Barton are next. They are also eliminated.

Ju’not Joyner and Jorge Nunez are the next set. One of them will advance. I gotta go with Jorge Nunez on this, and he is indeed the one to proceed to the next round. Minus the accent, I’d put him as a serious contender to win this thing, but it will be interesting to see how it plays out.

Now that we have our top 9, it’s time to talk wild card. Whoever didn’t make it from the top 36 is eligible. The judges will choose 8 people from that group. The wild card participants will be:

Von Smith
Jasmine Murray
Ricky Braddy
Megan Joy Corkrey
Tatiana del Toro (are you freaking kidding me?)
Matt Giraud
Jesse Langseth
Anoop Desai

These 8 contestants will perform in a special episode tomorrow night where we will find out live who the remaining three contestants in the top 12 are.

Stay tuned to dingoRUE for another recap of American Idol Season 8 episode 18, which airs Thursday at 8/7c on Fox.

Leave a Reply